MSCS Named a Level 5 School District

Posted on Monday, August 15, 2022
For the first time since the 2014-15 school year, Memphis-Shelby County Schools (MSCS) is a Level 5 school district, the highest distinction available based on TVAAS composite scores. Student performance in both Literacy and Numeracy also earned a Level 5.

The Tennessee Value-Added Assessment System (TVAAS) measures students’ academic growth over time. Its focus is student growth rather than student proficiency on the state assessment. TVAAS helps educators identify best practices, implement programs that best meet the needs of their students, and make informed decisions about where to focus resources to ensure growth opportunities for all students.

A Level 5 composite means we are successfully moving students toward proficiency and beyond. We understand not all students start at the same place. Significant growth, as characterized by a Level 5, means our students are rebounding from the negative impacts of the pandemic, our teachers are effectively helping students to reach academic goals, and our curriculum plan is getting results.

TVAAS Results 2022 English
“This is the first time since the 2014-15 school year that our District has earned Level 5 distinction, which is the highest ranking available,” said MSCS Deputy Superintendent Dr. Angela Whitelaw. “We are proud of this honor because it affirms that our strategies and teachers are helping students make academic gains.”
Additionally, 10 MSCS-managed schools earned a Level 4 Composite:

A. B. Hill ES Germantown MS
Bethel Grove ES Grandview Heights MS
Bruce ES Havenview MS
Double Tree ES Highland Oaks MS
Dunbar ES Raleigh-Egypt MS